A user is any individual who accesses Confluence.
A Confluence administrator can also group users together into user groups for more convenient administration. This means that any permissions you assign at the site, space and page levels can be assigned to a whole group. A user in one of these groups will automatically be granted all permissions granted to the group.
There are two special groups in Confluence:
- Confluence-Administrators - This is a 'super-group' and a user from this group has permission to do anything in the site regardless of any other setting.
- Confluence-Users - This is the default group into which all new users are assigned. Permissions you assign to this group will be assigned to all newly signed-up users of Confluence.
Confluence treats all users who do not log in when they access Confluence as being 'Anonymous'. Administrators can assign permissions to this group separately.
Overlapping group and user permissions
When a user is assigned more than one permission, the most powerful permission will prevail.
- A user may be assigned a permission specifically to their username. They may also be assigned a permission by belonging to a group, or even several groups.
- The user will then be able to perform all functions assigned to them.
- So if a user is allowed to do something over and above what the group can do, the user will be able to do it. And if the group is allowed to do something over and above the specific permissions granted to the user, the user will still be able to do it.
Take me back to Wikis Help Guide